May Book Haul | 2020

Sooooo my birthday was in May and we all know what that means. YUP. This is a big haul. I got a lot of books. There are many books to show off and I am so EXCITED. Not only that, but I also have more than one audiobook to share with you because I exchanged a previous audiobook for another. EXCITING. 


BIRTHDAY BOOKS

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
by C. A. Fletcher

45696945

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

I’ve actually started reading this one and am loving it so far. It’s set in a post-apocalyptic world where fertility rates drop and so does the human population. There are now about 7,000 people left (maybe less) and this follows the story of one family after a stranger steals one of their dogs. It’s totally different to anything else I’ve read!

Infinity Son
by Adam Silvera

34510711. sy475

Balancing epic and intensely personal stakes, bestselling author Adam Silvera’s Infinity Son is a gritty, fast-paced adventure about two brothers caught up in a magical war generations in the making.

I have not heard amazing things about this and the average rating on Goodreads is pretty low but I’m determined to love this. Why? I have no idea, really. But I do love Adam Silvera and I just don’t believe that this isn’t good. He’s awesome at writing characters and the premise sounds amazing! I’m genuinely excited to read this.

The Starless Sea
by Erin Morgenstern

39834986. sx318

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world–a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

I LOVE the premise for this story. I haven’t read The Night Circus which is also by Morgenstern even though I’ve had a copy for years (we all know my TBR is out of control, so no surprises there). But if you actually go and read the blurb for this you’ll be blown away. It looks like we’re in for an interesting (magical?) quest in this story.

Skyward
by Brandon Sanderson

42386381. sy475

From Brandon Sanderson, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reckoners series, Words of Radiance, and the internationally bestselling Mistborn series, comes the first book in an epic new series about a girl who dreams of becoming a pilot in a dangerous world at war for humanity’s future.

This is so happening. I’m finally going to pick up a Sanderson book. For years The Final Empire has lurked on my shelf intimidated the crap out of me with its huge page count. But everyone is RAVING about how good Skyward is, so I just know I’m going to love this. Plus it’s not quite so intimidating – I can’t wait to start this! Lowkey sounds like Top Gun in space, I don’t know why, I’m fairly sure I’ve got that so wrong but those are the vibes I’m getting.

The Lies of Locke Lamora
by Scott Lynch

865293

The Thorn of Camorr is said to be an unbeatable swordsman, a master thief, a friend to the poor, a ghost that walks through walls.

I HAVE BEEN MEANING TO GET THIS FOR YEARS. So this has been on my wishlist for about three million decades and I just keep forgetting to actually order a copy. So with my reward points/bonus points at Dymocks for my birthday I trundled off to the bookstore and saw this and went OH YEAH. Tah daaah! Finally, I can read about my knights and thieves and all the good things that happen within this story.

Stain
by A. G. Howard

43909002. sy475

This high-fantasy gothic fairytale, inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s The Princess and the Pea, takes place in an alternative medieval world split apart by magic.

I love A. G. Howard’s books and was so excited to see that she’s come out with a new fairtale retelling inspired by the Princess and the Pea. But this is a nice chunky boy so I can’t wait to get stuck into it and read all about the princess and prince in this story!

Angel Mage
by Garth Nix

43655625. sy475

More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking no more than nineteen, and once again renews her single-minded quest to be united with her lover, Palleniel, the archangel of Ystara.

I’ve yet to read a Garth Nix book but I think this will be a good starting point. I’ve heard some good things about it already and I really like the magical premise to this that involves angels and a quest to save/ruin a kingdom. I think this will be quite an addictive read.

Once Upon a River
by Diane Setterfield

43459782. sy475

Some say the river drowned her…Some say it brought her back to life.

Diane Setterfield is my favourite mystery author! Well, second favourite after Agatha Christie, to be fair. But I really loved The Thirteenth Tale so it was really exciting when she came out with the new story! This is about a girl who is brought into an ancient inn on the Thames after drowning . . . but shortly after she comes back to life.

Burn
by Patrick Ness

45714170. sy475

On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst waited with her father in the parking lot of the Chevron gas station for the dragon he’d hired to help on the farm…

This book has such an interest premise. It involves dragons which is an immediate big tick for me. It follows a poor family who are forced to hire a dragon (something only the very poor do) to work their lands. Prophecies get involved and honestly, I just want to know how this world works because it sounds fascinating.

Sherwood
by Meagan Spooner

38734256

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-***, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Having read Hunted by Spooner I was immediately invested in reading Sherwood and was lucky enough to get it for my birthday. This is a Robin Hood retelling and I am SO down for it. Whilst I haven’t liked some of Spooner’s writing in the past, she does retellings so well.


RECEIVED

The Pull of the Stars
by Emma Donoghue

51824630

Dublin, 1918: three days in a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu. A small world of work, risk, death and unlooked-for love, by the bestselling author of The Wonder and ROOM.

A big thank you to HarperCollins for letting me get my paws on this early. I’ve managed to snag an advanced eBook of this story and I’m so intrigued! I’ve heard so many amazing things about Donoghue’s stories and this seemed so appropriate to read at the moment. It’s set in Dublin (one of my favourite cities in the world) in 1918, during the Spanish Flu. The span of the story is just three days in a maternity ward following the stories of three women. This is also supposed to have some LGBT+ representation.


 AUDIOBOOKS

The Book of Longings
by Sue Monk Kidd

53242149. sy475

“I am Ana. I was the wife of Jesus.” So begins the new novel from the number one New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Life of Bees and The Invention of Wings, an extraordinary story set in the first century about a woman who finds her voice and her destiny in a time of great despair and great hope.

I’ve had my eye on this since it’s release a month or two ago because it sounds so unique. It’s a reimagining of Jesus’ times and the story is told from his wife’s perspective (obviously this is alternate fiction to the bible as Jesus did not have a wife). I just think this is a really bold move to write a story about and I’m so interested.

Waking Gods
by Sylvain Neuvel

30134847

I loved Sleeping Giants. It’s been one of my favourite reads for the year and definitely one of my all-time favourite audiobooks. So, of course, I was going to continue the series via audiobook!! I’m so excited to start this one. If you don’t know what this series is about, think USA military discovering and build a large robot for “defence”.


 E-BOOKS

Terraformer
by Colleen Houck

51767540. sx318

A new dystopian sci-fi YA series from the New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck

Warning all Astronauts:
COLONY BOUNDARY WARNING!
PERMISSION TO ENTER ALIEN FOREST IS REQUIRED
NOTE: NO RESCUE ATTEMPTS WILL BE MADE

My darling queen, Colleen Houck, has released a new book and I’m nearly done reading it already and GUYS IT’S AMAZING. The average ratings on Goodreads were pretty low when I started reading (they’ve gone up a litte) and I don’t know why?! Don’t listen to these early disbelievers!! This is an amazing book about a terraforming mission gone wrong because the planet they land on is sentient and tries to pick off the colonists one by one. SO GOOD. SO FREAKING GOOD. Colleen Houck is such a brilliant author and I would highly recommend you check out ALL of her books!


That’s a wrap!

Have you read any of these? What did you think!


Happy reading!

~~ Kirstie ~~

Instagram

11 thoughts on “May Book Haul | 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.